Dr. Suman Chakraborty

Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur, India


Dr. Suman Chakraborty is a Professor in the Mechanical Engineering Department as well as an Institute Chair Professor of the Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur, India, and the Head of the School of Medical Science and Technology. He is currently the Associate Dean for Sponsored Research and Industrial Consultancy. He has been also been recently awarded the prestigious J. C. Bose National Fellowship by the Government of India. His current areas of research include microfluidics, nanofluidics, micro-nano scale transport, with particular focus on biomedical applications. He has been awarded the Santi Swaroop Bhatnagar Prize in the year 2013, which is the highest Scientific Award from the Government of India. He has been elected as a Fellow of the American Physical Society, Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry, Fellow of ASME, Fellow of all the Indian National Academies of Science and Engineering, recipient of the Indo-US Research Fellowship, Scopus Young Scientist Award for high citation of his research in scientific/technical Journals, and Young Scientist/ Young Engineer Awards from various National Academies of Science and Engineering. He has also been an Alexander von Humboldt Fellow, and a visiting Professor at the Stanford University. He has 400+ Journal publications.